The Sound is Innocent

The Sound is Innocent

Electronic music is a playground. And your toy can be an instrument, a machine, an object…

THE SOUND IS INNOCENT invites you on an audiovisual journey into a dreamlike space that explores the meaning, function and significance of the world of electronic and experimental sound. Across five distinct chapters, the film guides us through an oscillating maze of creative figures and moments that's as bracingly original as the pioneering music it so passionately documents.

Ožvold's dynamic and unusual documentary shines new light on some of thefundamental questions of musical creation, tracing the relationship between both man and machine, and artist and instrument. Featuring electronic pioneers including François Bonnet, Steve Goodman (aka Kode9), Julian Rohrhuber, John Richards, Hannes Hoelzl & Albert Decampo, each artist provides a unique and sometimes personal perspective on the radical periods of sonic invention that have transformed art, culture and even public life.

In her debut feature-length film, Johana Ožvold navigates a mysterious labyrinthian institution, encountering manifest memories and inspirations. From the subversive frequencies tuned behind the iron curtain, to the confrontational French avant-garde, and the limitless sculptures of digital innovation, THE SOUND IS INNOCENT explores fertile and prescient links between sound and society, as well as the technology boom and our globalized world.

Directed by
Johana Ožvold
Czech Republic, France, Slovakia
Johana Ožvold, Lukáš Csiscely
Šimon Dvořáček
Zuzana Walter
Original music and consultancy
Martin Ožvold
Sound design
Adam Voneš, Martin Ožvold
Set designer
Antonin Šilar
Martin Mareček
François Bonnet, Steve Goodman, Julian Rohrhuber, John Richards, Hannes Hoelzl & Alberto De Campo
Production company
Cinémotif Films (CZ)
Kristýna Michálek Květová
Co-produced by
Films de Force Majeure (FR), Punkchart Films (SK), UPP, Soundsquare, Czech Television, RTVS, Lyon Capital TV